The beginning

Let me introduce our family. My name is Catherine, I’m 27 years old and 4 months ago I gave birth to our first beautiful son, George. George’s other mummy is my wonderful wife Katy. We have been together 8 years this October, and we married on 10th October 2010. George was desperately wanted and planned for many years, and we were absolutely thrilled when, on 9th July 2012, we found out I was pregnant. I had a horrendous pregnancy with hyperemesis gravidarum, severe pelvic pain, torn stomach muscles and antenatal depression. I looked forward to my pregnancy being over and our son being born, and I never imagined the challenge that was to come. George has never been able to breastfeed, something I was looking forward to with a passion. I even dreamed of it when I was pregnant. I think I have cried more tears for this than anything else in my life. I have exclusively pumped for him but it has never been enough. This blog is about my breastfeeding journey with George. I hope that you enjoy it and I can raise awareness about breast refusal and exclusively pumping.

2 thoughts on “The beginning

  1. Well done!
    It is so easy to give up – or be persuaded – when the going is tough, particularly in the surreal post-birth struggle to get one’s self re-stabilised. Trying to cope with the surge of emotional and physical changes, as well as a new person – for whom one is completely responsible – can make breast feeding one more hurdle.
    I am delighted that you are determined to do what is best for your son – and that you are blogging about it, to spread the word and support strugglers elsewhere.
    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

